(June 1997)

Professors (Level E academics)

Maxwell R Bennett, BE MSc PhD Melb DSc, FAA (Appointed 1983)

David G Allen, BSc MB BS PhD Lond (Appointed 1989)

Roger A L Dampney, BSc PhD DSc (Appointed 1997)

Ann E Sefton, BSc(Med) MB BS PhD DSc (Associate Dean Curriculum of the Faculty of Medicine)

Professor not on establishment

John Atherton Young, BSc(Path) MD BS DSc Qld, FAA FRACP AO (appointed to Level E 1976; Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Health Sciences Academic Group)

Readers (Level D academics)

Joseph FY Hoh, BSc(Med) PhD ANU MB BS DSc

Brian J Morris, BSc Adel PhD Monash DSc

Associate Professors (Level D academics)

David F Davey, BSc PhD McG (Head of Department)

David I Cook, BSc(Med) MD BS MSc (The University of Sydney Medical Foundation Fellow)

Rebecca S Mason, MB BS PhD

Paul Pilowsky, BMedSc BMBS PhD Flinders (at Royal North Shore Hospital)

Senior Lecturers (Level C academics)

Simon Carlile, BSc PhD (conjoint appointment in Dept of Education, Development & Evaluation)

Paul R Martin, BSc PhD

Lecturers (Level B academics)

William D Phillips, BSc PhD

Lynne J Cottee, BSc PhD - half-time (also RO) *

Miriam I Frommer, PhD Lond BSc

Associate Lecturers (Level A academics)

Françoise Janod-Groves, BSc(Appl) NSWIT MApplSc UTS

Irene Schneider, BSc NSW, MSc(Prelim)

Joint Appointees

Christopher O'Neill, BSc PhD Newcastle (NSW) (Clinical Associate Professor at Royal North Shore Hospital)

Annick Ansselin, BA Macq MSc PhD (Lecturer)

Visiting Fellows/Scholars

Tsunetoshi Hayashi, DDS PhD Nagoya

Jouji Horiuchi, BSc PhD Yamanashi

Guo Hua Li, BSc MSc Shenyang

Xuegang Luo, BSc PhD Hunan Med Univ

Brian MacIntosh, BSc Guelph PhD Florida

#Dilson Rassier, BPE Pelotas MSc Rio Grande do Sul

(# visiting PhD student of Prof Brian MacIntosh)

Honorary Appointments

Research Affiliates

William Burke, BSc PhD Lond (Emeritus Professor)

Thomas Fitzgibbon, BSc Victoria PhD (Dept of Clinical Ophthalmology)

Lyn R Griffiths, BSc NSW PhD (Senior Lecturer at Griffith Univ, Gold Coast)

Honorary Associate Professor

Barry S Gow, MDS PhD, FRACDS

Honorary Associates

Nickolas A Lavidis, BSc PhD (also RD Wright Fellow)

Peter M Wenderoth, MA PhD DSc (Professor of Psychology, Macquarie Univ)

Honorary Research Associate

Michael DL Slater, BSc NSW PhD FAIMS

Brett Wells, BSc PhD ANU

Postdoctoral Research Fellows

Allan Coop, BSc PhD ANU - NHMRC

Margot Day, BSc PhD - NHMRC

Anuwat Dinudom, MSc PhD - Medical Foundation

Ann K Goodchild, BSc PhD - ARC

Elizabeth Harding, BSc PhD Sheffield - NHMRC

Xiaohui Xiao, MD PhD Beijing Med Univ

Senior Research Associate

Ulrike Grünert, BSc PhD Frankfurt - ARC

Senior Research Officers

Permsak Komwatana, MS PhD Charlottesville - NHMRC

Philip Poronnik, BSc PhD - ARC

Yi-kun Lou, BMed Qingdao PhD - NHMRC

Research Officers

Yue-Kun Ju, MD Xian PhD ANU - NHF

Lucia H Kang, MD MSc Korea PhD - NHF *

Angeles Sanchez-Perez, BSc PhD Salamanca §

Research Assistants


Weiyi Zhang, BMed Qingdao MSc Shandong - NHMRC

Jeremy Hogan, BMedSc - NHMRC

Lauren O'Mullane, BBiomedSc Wollongong

Mathew Trainey, BTech Macq - 3M


Stephanie Hyams, BMedSc

Anna Lara, BSc Univ Republic

Honorary (unpaid)

Angela Hamilton, BSc*

PhD candidates


David J Adams, BSc UTS

Keith Brain, BScMed, BSc

Tricia Chan, BMedSc

Thomas Fink, BSc (also TO)§

Carolyn A Gibb, BSc

Krishna Ghosh, BSc

Hong Han, BMed Kuiming Med Coll MMedSc Capital Med Inst (China)

Rowena Henery, BE(Elec), BSc (also NHMRC RA) *

Michael KH Hsu, BSc Fu Jen Catholic Univ

Cheryl Jeyasingam, BMedSc

Craig Jin, BSc Stanford MSc Caltech

Jennifer Kearns, BSc NSW BA Macq MSc Illinois (enrolled in School of Maths & Stats)

Johann Leung, BE(Elec)

Simon Xun Liang, BMed Guangzhou Med Coll (China) (enrolled at Univ of NSW; also NHMRC RA) *

Christine Lucas, BSc (also TO) §

Greg Macleod, MBA NSW BSc (also NHMRC RA)†

Heeja Namkung, BNursSc Kyung Hee GradDipSc

Anne E Nelson, BSc MSc(prelim) (also RA)*

Lynne Turnbull, BSc New Engl (enrolled at Macquarie Univ)

Abigail Widin, BMedSc


Matthew Coleman, BSc

Yong-Qi Lin, BSc Shanghai Inst Med Eng MSc (also NHMRC RA)

Jaimie Polson, BSc (also NHMRC RA)†

Patrick Potts, BSc (also NHMRC RA)†

Anucharte Srijunbarl, BSc GradDipSc _ NHMRC

MMed candidates

David Sellen, BSc Cambridge

ShiHong Yang, BMed Kuiming Med Coll (China)

GradDipSc candidate

Jeremy Young

BMedSc(Hons) candidates

Austin Della-Franca

Kiran Deol

Helen Kavadias

Ruben Kurilowich

Tien (Cindy) Luu

Prakash Paniker

BSc(Hons) candidates

Catherine Coyle

Eric Fuentes-Bolomey

Anthony Suen

Adrienne Withall

BSc(Med)(Hons) candidates

Allen Cheung

Gemma Figtree

Matthew Thurtell

BSc(Dent)(Hons) candidate

Elizabeth Fletcher

Research laboratory staff


Lorraine Kerr - Senior Technical Officer

Francis JW Lee, PTC STC - Technical Officer

Jiangbo (Lucia) Gan, BE ME Xidian Univ - Technical Officer


Judith O'Neill, RN BA(Health Sci-Nursing) Charles Sturt

Laboratory assistant

Anandhi Anandan, BSc Bharathiyar Univ

Class laboratory staff

John F Cossey, BTC STC - Senior Technical Officer (in-charge)

Adel Mitry, BVSc Cairo ACC STC - Technical Officer

Electronics workshop staff

Vincent HW Cheung, HND Hong Kong Polytechnic CEI Part 2 UK - Senior Technical Officer

Computing staff

John WA Dodson, HNC Lond MIEEIE I Eng - Computer Network Manager

Yan Li, MEng Beijing Univ Tech - Computer Systems Officer

Administrative Officer

Yee-Fong Lee, BSocSc(Econ) Sci U M'sia

Administrative Assistants

Jennifer E Cantrill * §

Michele L Foord

Christine Hermely, BSc

Clara KN Li, BA Chinese Univ Hong Kong

Michelle R Tickle

RO signifies Research Officer

RA, Research Assistant

TO, Technical Officer

† full-time employment

* part-time

§ casual

N.B: As is the convention, the possession of Honours for a degree is not shown in the list of qualifications after each name above.

Back to Contents